top of page

The Good Wave Projec Group

Public·30 members
Otto Polyakov
Otto Polyakov

The Dark Souls [UPDATED]

The games take place within a dark, medieval fantasy setting, where the player's character fights against knights, dragons, phantoms, demons, and other monstrous or supernatural entities. The accretion, loss, and recovery of souls are central to the narrative and gameplay of Dark Souls games. These games are linked through their setting and an overarching cyclic narrative centering around fire, and are linked through common themes and elements, including interactions with phantoms and battles with demons. At the end of each game, characters may reignite the "first flame" or allow it to fade, recurring a choice others have made before.

The Dark Souls

The Dark Souls games are played in a third-person perspective, and focus on exploring interconnected environments while fighting enemies with weapons and magic. Players battle bosses to progress through the story, while interacting with non-playable characters. The protagonist of each Dark Souls game can have a varying gender, appearance, name, and starting class via character creation. Players can choose between classes, including knights, barbarians, thieves, and mages. Each class has its own starting equipment and abilities that can be tailored to the player's experience and choices as they progress. The player gains souls from gameplay battles which act as both experience points to level up and as currency to buy items. Souls gained are usually proportional to the difficulty of fighting certain enemies; the more difficult an enemy, the more souls the player will gain from defeating it.

Though FromSoftware has been making dark and unsettling games for decades, it wasn't until the release of Dark Souls that it gained mainstream appeal internationally. Since its release, Dark Souls has become unavoidable just as much for its gameplay as for its world-building.

A final, and deeply important point, is that the Age of Ancients was not dark, nor light. It truly was grey, a place of pure neutrality. It is the First Flame that brought light to this realm, and dark with it.

The Age of Ancients can occur only once. Dark Souls functions cyclically, though ever since the discovery of the First Flame, the world instead shifts between light and dark, rather than descending into grey once again. Once the light was birthed, it could never be forgotten. It took multiple people to bring this drastic change into existence.

Then came Gwyn. Like a miracle, he used bolts of lightning from the very sky to shave the Everlasting Dragons to dust. Afterwards, he ruled in the world of light from his throne in Anor Londo as a being treated as a god. However, when the fire began to dwindle, he spent his remaining time by its side in hopes of reigniting it, ultimately losing the very soul the First Flame gave him, loving his beloved capital in darkness.

When the First Flame came into existence, it brought with it Light and Dark, a heretofore unheard-of concept. And from that darkness, Hollows arose. 'Hollows' as a term is one frequently thrown around in Dark Souls, though can be hard to wrap your head around. In short, they are simply beings. Not Humans or even strictly undead, but a simple existence. Gwyn, Nito and the Witch of Izalith were all Hollows, and discovered the Lord Souls at the First Flame that transformed them into the godly beings they became.

Though it goes largely unrecorded by his other Lords, these humans were essential in the war against the Everlasting Dragons, and are likely the only reason the world can truly keep on going. The Dark Soul gave Light to Hollows, uplifting them from the Dark. In an ironic twist, they are some of the only beings that can truly exist in the dark due to the gift of Humanity, a concept none of the fellow Lord Souls share. It is something even the Everlasting Dragons cannot surpass. True immortality comes in cycles.

Dark Souls 3 introduces the Dark Sigil, which you can get from Yuel of Londor. The Dark Sigil appears on the Undead and makes one go hollow upon death. The more you die, the more your hollowing increases. You can use this to 'draw out your true strength," which translates to a few free levels. However, it does not consume your souls or revives you, and it is created by the pilgrims from Londor. It is not the same as the Dark Sign.

The Dark Sign as an item is pretty undervalued. Everyone who has played one of these games has lost a large number of souls at some point, and, while dying in an attempt to get further than you've ever gotten is tempting, it makes the recovery run all the more dangerous, as your death can result in a loss of a huge amount of souls.

The Dark Sign is a way to avoid that. Using the Dark Sign only affects your current souls. It does not, however, affect your bloodstain. So, if you do find yourself in a treacherous situation with a valuable bloodstain at stake, using a Dark Sign is a good idea.

The other camp argues that being Hollow is the natural state of humans and the Dark Sign contains the darkness and hollowing and allows humans to live. The lore is vague and interpretive enough to support both sides, and we are not likely to ever know for certain.

Gwyn's seal of fire gives an approximation of life to the Hollowness of humans. This also makes explains why hollowing and undeath become more prevalent as the fire fades. The fading of the First Flame weakens the seal, and the darkness starts to overpower the fire.

Announced with a stylish and undeniably intriguing trailer, Neowiz and Round8 studio are bringing a Souls-like Pinocchio experience to PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X, and PC. Truly, playing as Pinocchio in a souls-style game is only suited for such powerful platforms. First, check out the story trailer below to get a sense of the environments and style.

The games take place in a Dark Fantasy world, where humans coexist with giants, dragons, gods, monsters, and "Undead", humans marked with a cursed brand that grants them Resurrective Immortality, but slowly leeches their body and mind till they're a Soulless Shell. In each game, you take the role of one of these Undead, who finds themselves swept up in a quest to rekindle the flame that keeps the world alight, and hold off the coming age of darkness... that is, unless you choose to usher in that age yourself.

The tattered cloak of the dark souls in a non-guaranteed artifact. It is autocursing, grants invisibility, and reduces Willpower. In addition, Shadows, Slow shadows, Shadow centipedes, Shadow lords, Shadow trolls, and Shadow wyrms are generated friendly while the cloak is equipped. It appears as a tattered cloak when unidentified.

High Lord Wolnir represents a stellar addition to the Dark Souls roster of bosses in terms of design - a colossal skeleton adorned in ancient baubles and jewelry. However, with wide telegraphed swings, the only genuine danger in this fight is the damage inflicted by the surrounding darkness. To beat the High Lord, players must target the enormous glowing bracelets that they wear, which shine like beacons against the dark backdrop of the boss arena. 350c69d7ab


Welcome to the group! You can connect with other members, ge...
Group Page: Groups_SingleGroup
bottom of page